Assignment 1, Step 5; The Filtering Process

The purpose of the process of our online digital identity assignment control. The internet is a vast source of information accessible to anyone around the world. Therefore it is only natural for one to want to be able to control exactly what content is being viewed by the public. As upcoming new media artists, not only are the skill we learned through the assignment valuable and can be applied to different things as well, but it is important for us to learn to keep a professional profile for viewing. Some students used a pseudo name in order to keep their professional and recreational identity separate.I however chose not to, because my name is not a common one and can be easily searched to find information on me. Another reason that i chose to stick with my real name was because I already have many old accounts left unattended on the web that yet another username/false identity would just add to the growing list of things to keep track of. This way I can directly weed out what I like and dislike about the content that comes back when I’m searched on the web. Another easy way that I now use after doing this assignment in order to keep track of all my accounts and identities is creating a web or sorts. What I did was link together all my account and identities within each other. For example, on my imagearts website I have a link of my Facebook,twitter,flickr etc account and on each of these accounts there is in turn a link for my imagearts website.

Through completing this assignment, I learned a new organizational skill and how to create and maintain an online image/profile of myself that I can be satisfied with and proud to show others. 

Leave a comment